Committee on Recognition

(As of June 2020)

Mary Ann P. Swain (Chair)
Bartle Professor
State University of New York at Binghamton
Decker School of Nursing
January 2019 – December 2021

Teri Cannon
Chief Accreditation Officer
Chief Student Affairs and Operations Officer
Keck Graduate Institute and Minerva Schools at KGI
January 2019– December 2020

Stephanie Droker, Ed.D.
Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges
January 2019 – December 2020

Neil Harvison
Chief Professional Affairs Officer
American Occupational Therapy Association
Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education
January 2019 – December 2020

Lucas B. Kavlie
Vice President, Compliance & Accreditation
Western Governors University
January 2019 – December 2020

Tanmay Pramanik
Vice President, Institutional Compliance
Transnational Association of Christian Colleges and Schools
January 2019 December 2020

David Werner
Chancellor Emeritus
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
January 2019 – December 2021

Emily Williams
Vice President and Dean of Academic Affairs
University of Pittsburgh-Bradford
January 2019 December 2020

About the Committee on Recognition

COMMITTEE RESPONSIBILITIES AND RELATIONSHIP TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS.  The Committee reviews applications for recognition of accrediting organizations and makes recommendations to the Board.  With due regard for the Committee’s advice and applying a presumption of regularity, the Board reviews the Committee’s recommendations and makes the final determinations as to the recognition of the accrediting organizations.  The Committee reviews and makes the final determinations with respect to editorial modifications to the CHEA-recognized scope of accreditation, interim reports and requests by the Committee for information.  The Committee reviews and makes the final determinations with respect to changes to the CHEA-recognized scope of accreditation, in accord with the provisions of Paragraph 8.

MEMBERSHIP.  The Committee is appointed by the Board upon recommendation by the President of CHEA in consultation with CHEA-recognized accrediting organizations and others.  The Committee will consist of nine (9) members, each serving a three (3)-year term, and each of whom may be reappointed to one or more three (3)-year terms.  The Committee includes public members, members from regional, national career- or faith-related and programmatic accrediting organizations and members from colleges and universities. CHEA will seek participation that reflects the diversity of the accrediting community and higher education institutions.  Current Board members are ineligible for service on the Committee.

CONDUCT OF MEETINGS.  The Committee, in consultation with the President of CHEA, will establish the time, place and procedures for its meetings.  The Committee will consider all materials it deems pertinent.

From Recognition of Accrediting Organizations Policy and Procedures, approved by the CHEA Board of Directors September 28, 1998 and revised by the CHEA Board of Directors January 23, 2006, June 28, 2010 and September 24, 2018.