

BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 28, 2016 WASHINGTON, DC

Summary of Major Actions and Discussion

(These are not official minutes of the CHEA Board of Directors.)

Chair James L. Gaudino called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m.

TREASURER'S REPORT

The board of directors:

- Accepted the FY16 external audit as presented.
- Received the FY16 fourth quarter financial report.
- Received an update on FY16 institutional membership.
- Approved the transfer of FY16 remaining funds.

CHAIR'S REPORT

The board of directors acted as follows:

- Approved the CHEA Committee on Recognition's recommendation to grant eligibility to seek CHEA recognition to the Commission on Accreditation of Medical Physics Education Programs, Inc.
- Approved the CHEA Committee on Recognition's recommendation to recognize the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges with a report in one year, with the additional proviso that the recognition is for up to four years.

At its July 25-26, 2016 meeting, the CHEA Committee on Recognition recommended that CHEA deny recognition to AACSB International-The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB). On September 23, 2016, AACSB withdrew from CHEA recognition. The CHEA Board of Directors was informed of the committee recommendation and the AACSB withdrawal at its September 28, 2016 meeting.

Appointment of 2016-2017 Committees

During the board meeting, board members indicated their preferences for committee participation. Committee membership for 2016-2017 is as follows:

Committee on Directors

- David Maxwell, Chair
- Tim Chandler
- Cynthia Jackson-Hammond
- Joe D. May
- Paula M. Rooney

Committee on Membership

- Craig Swenson, Chair
- Rock Jones
- Nancy Marlin
- Judy C. Miner
- Lesley Wilson

Reserve, Investment and Audit Committee

- Satish Tripathi, Chair
- Bud Baeslack
- Bob Kerrey
- Richard L. Pattenaude
- Ann E. Rondeau

PRESIDENT'S REPORT

Appointments to the Committee on Recognition

The board of directors re-appointed the following members to the Committee on Recognition:

- Mary Jane Harris, Higher Education Consultant (one-year term, January 2017 December 2017)
- E. Clorisa Phillips, Education Consultant (one-year term, January 2017 December 2017)
- Dan Aleshire, Executive Director, Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools (two-year term, January 2017 December 2018)
- David Werner, Chancellor Emeritus, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville (two-year term, January 2017 December 2018)

The re-appointed members will join committee members:

- Pauletta Brown Bracy, Director, Office of University Accreditation, North Carolina Central University
- Barbara Brittingham, President, Commission on Institutions of Higher Education, New England Association of Schools and Colleges
- William B. DeLauder, President Emeritus, Delaware State University (Chair)
- David K. Holger, Associate Provost for Academic Programs and Dean of the Graduate College, Iowa State University
- Mary Ann P. Swain, Professor, Decker School of Nursing, State University of New York at Binghamton

Government Affairs Report

Vice President for Government Affairs Jan Friis reported on federal policy developments since the board of directors met in April 2016. This included the meeting of the National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity in June 2016 and continued in August 2016, and the absence in Congress of any action on reauthorization of the Higher Education Act. With regard to the 2016 elections, Mr. Friis reported on the Democratic and Republican Party platforms and the limited attention paid to higher education and accreditation.

2015-2016 Year-End Report

President Eaton called the board's attention to the progress report on the 2015-2016 organizational goals that addressed CHEA's four major function areas of government affairs, recognition, membership services and the CHEA International Quality Group.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:08 a.m.

The next meeting of the CHEA Board of Directors will take place January 30, 2017, in Washington, DC.