CHEA/CIQG Webinar--Sustaining & Enhancing Institutional Autonomy: The Role of Quality Assurance

Event Date
April 16, 2020

CHEA/CIQG Webinar

Sustaining and Enhancing Institutional Autonomy: The Role of Quality Assurance
Thursday, April 16, 2020
8:00am ET/14:00 CET/20:00 HKT

The Council for Higher Education Accreditation/ International Quality Group (CHEA/CIQG) invites you to participate in a Webinar on the important role of quality assurance in sustaining and enhancing institutional autonomy.

This 90-minute Webinar will address the state of institutional autonomy in several countries, with the goals of: 

  • Enhancing understanding of the complexity of what "institutional autonomy" means in various places around the world.
  • Probing the oft-repeated assertion that institutional autonomy is under threat worldwide.
  • Discussing the role quality assurance can play to sustain and strengthen institutional autonomy.

Panelists

Jamil Salmi (Moderator), Global Tertiary Education Expert

Kai-ming Cheng, Professor Emeritus, University of Hong Kong

Helen Lockey, Senior Assistant Registrar, University of Hong Kong

Goolam Mohamedbhai, Former Secretary-General, Association of African Universities

Srbijanka Turajlić, Professor, University of Belgrade Faculty of Electrical Engineering (Retired)

The Webinar will be of value to quality assurance leaders, academic leaders such as faculty and academic administrators, higher education associations and government officials.

Registration is free. Attendance will be limited to the first 200 registrants.