New Members of CHEA Board of Directors And Executive Committee Take Office

July 11, 2019

(Washington, DC) The Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) Board of Directors elected seven new board members as well as the 2019-2020 Executive Committee during the board’s Annual Meeting, held May 6, 2019 in Washington, DC. The changes are effective July 1, 2019.

New members of the board elected to three-year terms are:

  • Joseph Brimhall, President, University of Western States
  • Pauletta Brown Bracy, Director, Office of University Accreditation, North Carolina Central University
  • Antoine Garibaldi, President, University of Detroit Mercy
  • Dottie King, President, Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College
  • Cesar Maldonado, Chancellor, Houston Community College
  • Anthony Munroe, President, Essex County College
  • Carlos Santiago, Commissioner, Massachusetts Department of Higher Education

Members of the Executive Committee (who will serve a one-year term for 2019-2020) are:

  • Orlando Taylor (Chair), Vice President for Strategic Initiatives and Research, Fielding Graduate University
  • Jean Wyld (Vice Chair), Professor Emeritus, Retired Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Springfield College
  • Nancy Marlin (Secretary), Professor and Provost Emerita, San Diego State University
  • Richard Pattenaude (Treasurer), President Emeritus and Professor of Political Science, Ashford University
  • Ann E. Rondeau (Member-at-Large), President, Naval Postgraduate School and Vice Admiral, U.S. Navy (Ret.)
  • David Maxwell (Immediate Past Chair), President Emeritus, Drake University

“Accreditation is important in every facet of higher education and the challenges facing accreditation are significant,” said CHEA President Judith Eaton. “We are deeply appreciative that these individuals will help CHEA address the critical issues ahead.”

A full listing of the 2019-2020 CHEA Board of Directors is available on the CHEA Website.